Posted by: Jason | December 9, 2009

Meanwhile in Wisconsin

It’s been colder than usual in this part of China – around 40 F, as opposed to 50-55 F  (the normal range for this season).  My wife just e-mailed pictures of the snowstorm that hit Appleton yesterday, and believe me, none of us are complaining about 40 F.

  

If I can take a second to plug a local Fox Cities business, Modern Sheet Metal HVAC is incredible.  Our furnace’s heat-exchanger cracked three days ago, and they replaced it with a high-efficiency unit this morning.  According to my wife, they’ve been fantastic at every turn.  In fact, the furnace would have gone in yesterday, but the owner said to her, “You know, I’m just not happy with your ductwork, and if you don’t mind waiting one more day, I’d really like to rebuild it for you.”  Of course that’s all included in the estimate I gave you.”  So if I can use this platform to send some business their direction, I’m happy to do it.  Plus, home energy use is a non-trivial environmental issue.  According to the Energy Star website, “Upgrading your furnace or boiler from 56% to 90% efficiency in an average cold-climate house will save 1.5 tons of carbon dioxide emissions each year if you heat with gas, or 2.5 tons if you heat with oil.”  The furnace Modern Sheet Metal carried out of our basement was installed in 1991, so it was old enough to be reaching the end of its anticipated lifespan.  They replaced it with a 95% AFUE model with a high-efficiency, constantly-blowing fan.  So three cheers for home energy efficiency, and three cheers for Modern Sheet Metal HVAC.  Think Modern Sheet Metal HVAC for all your heating ventilation and air conditioning needs.  Modern Sheet Metal HVAC. 


Leave a comment

Categories